Mandela Washington 2025 Fellowship for Young Africans

Mandela Washington 2025 Fellowship for Young Africans

Mandela Washington 2025 Fellowship for Young Africans

​The U.S. Department of State and IREX is happy to announce the Mandela Washington 2025 Fellowship Program to participate in a six-week Leadership Institute at a U.S. college or university.

The Mandela Washington Fellowship is the flagship program of the United State Government’s Young African Leaders Initiative (YALI).

The Mandela Washington fellowship will be bringing up to 700 young leaders to the United States for a comprehensive executive style program designed to build skills and empower fellows to lead in their respective sectors and communities.

SEE ALSO: Latest Fellowships

Fellowship Summary:

Fellowship Sponsor(s): U.S. Government and IREX

Host Institution(s): Not specified

Number of Awards: Several

Study Level: All study levels

Duration: 6 weeks

Nationality: Africans

Requirement and Eligibility Criteria for the Mandela Washington Fellowship:

  • Are between the ages of 25 and 35 on or before the application deadline, although exceptional applicants ages 21-24 will be considered;
  • Are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents of the United States;
  • Are eligible to receive a United States J-1 visa;
  • Are not employees or immediate family members of employees of the U.S. Government (including a U.S. embassy or consulate, USAID, or other U.S. Government entity);
  • Are proficient in reading, writing, and speaking English (additional guidance coming for applicants who are deaf);
    Are citizens of one of the following countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, or Zimbabwe;
  • Are residents of one of the above countries; and
  • Are not Alumni of the Mandela Washington Fellowship.

SEE ALSO: KIC 2024 Young Farmer Business Academy (YFBA) Program

Application Procedures for the Mandela Washington Fellowship(How to Apply):

Interested and eligible applicants for the Mandela Washington Fellowship (YALI Fellowship) Program 2025 are to apply online before the application deadline. Applicants with any question are to contact the Fellowship Team at

Application Deadline: September, 2024

For more information Visit the Official Website.

Leave a Reply